The Root: It’s Time to #ReclaimMLK From Those Who Seek to Sanitize His Legacy

TheSnob

One of my pet peeves has been the recent push to turn Martin Luther King, Jr. Day into a generic national “Day of Service.” It annoys me not because I hate volunteerism (volunteering is great!) but because we all know damn well Martin Luther King didn’t live his life under threat of death constantly to eventually die from an assassin’s bullet because he wanted to paint poor people’s houses on weekends. No, he died for the long-denied rights of black people. We need to #ReclaimMLK, and I wasn’t alone in these thoughts.

View original post 189 more words

About Jack Ladouskas

My quest in life is to look back at the end of it and accomplish two things: 1) be happy with how I lived it and 2) make a positive impact in the world. This blog is a little slice of both. I hope you enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

